Chaesub Lee

ITU’s Telecommunication Standardization Bureau
Participates in 1 Session
Chaesub Lee is the Director of ITU’s Telecommunication Standardization Bureau, following his election at the 2014 Plenipotentiary Conference in Busan, Republic of Korea. He took office on 1st January 2015.

Dr Lee has been involved in the telecommunication and ICT standardization field for 27 years, specializing in areas such as integrated services digital networks (ISDN), global information infrastructure (GII), Internet protocol, next-generation networks (NGN), Internet protocol television (IPTV) and cloud computing.

He started his professional life in 1986 as a researcher at Korea Telecom. After 17 years he took up a role at the country's Electronic and Telecommunications Research Institute (ETRI), where he stayed for the next eight years.
Most recently he worked at the Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology (KAIST), and as a senior advisor to the Koreans Ministry, ICT and Future Planning (MSIP).

Within ITU Dr Lee served as Chairman of the ITU Next-Generation Networks (NGN) Focus Group to address the growing need for global standards for NGN, including service requirements, functional architecture and mobility, security and Quality of Service (QoS). He was also Vice-Chairman of the ITU IPTV Focus Group which works to coordinate and promote the development of IPTV standards. 

He acted as Vice-Chairman of ITU-T Study Group 13 'Future Networks and Cloud' from 2001 until 2008, becoming Chairman of that group in 2009. Study Group 13 works to develop standardization solutions for NGNs, future networks and cloud computing, Internet of Things (IoT), and mobile telecommunications, to ensure their smooth international deployment in the coming years.

Dr Lee holds a PhD in Multimedia Engineering.

Sessions in which Chaesub Lee participates

Thursday June 20, 2019

4:00 PM
4:00 PM
Mirko Presser
Aarhus University
Associate Professor, Deputy Head of ICDBD
Karsten Dehler
It Forum
Commercial Director, IoT
Chaesub Lee
ITU’s Telecommunication Standardization Bureau
Tine Lai Andersen
City of Aarhus
Development Consultant
Paul Wilson
TM Forum
Chief Marketing Officer
Pearse O'Donohue
DG Connect - Directorate "Future Networks"
Thomas Hahn
President of BDVA & Chief Expert Software @ Siemens AG
Kees van der Klauw
Alliance for Internet of Things Innovation (AIOTI)
Sébastien Ziegler
Mandat International
Director at Mandat International and President of the IoT Forum