Skip to main page content

2023 COS Awards for Excellence in Ophthalmic Research

The Canadian Ophthalmological Society congratulates the recipients of the 2023 COS Awards for Excellence in Ophthalmic Research. These awards recognize residents, fellows, and medical students who are conducting original, innovative research at a Canadian university. Thank you to the Awards Chair, Dr. Cindy Hutnik, and the members of the adjudication committee for the paper and poster awards: Catherine Birt, Rustum Karanjia, R. Rishi Gupta, Yacine Touahri, Stephen Brodovsky, Corey Smith, Ali Hafez, Stephanie Dotchin, Michael Fielden, Lisa Lagrou, Vivian Yin and Bernie Hurley for their time and support in selecting the 2023 winners. 



First prize

Lia Huo, PhD, University of Toronto

Sustained Release of Sh3-RdCVF to Rescue Cone Photoreceptor Death in Retinitis Pigmentosa

Presented during Retina III: Deep Retina – Plug Those Leaks and Keep It Flowing




Second prize

Bryon McKay, MD, PhD, FRCSC, University of Toronto

2-Year Evaluation of Subretinal Fluid Drainage Techniques in Pars Plana Vitrectomy for Primary Rhegmatogenous Retinal Detachment

Presented during Retina I: Modern Retina Surgery – All Vit, No Buckle?