Skip to main page content

Friday Keynote: Dr. John Mather

Decorative image for session Friday Keynote: Dr. John Mather

My Session Status

8:00 AM, Friday 5 Feb 2021 CST (1 hour)
Space Center Houston (Hosting of all events take place on-line-virtually) - Keynote Speaker   Virtual session
This session is in the past.
The virtual space is closed.
How did we get here from the Big Bang? Astronomers, geologists, and biologists all look back in time to work out the picture. I will show the history of the universe from the Big Bang to now, and how we found out. I will show the basic forces leading to complexity, from hurricanes to life. And how far can we go? That depends on our ingenuity, and on what Nature gives us to work with. Let’s get on with it!

John C. Mather

Dr. Mather is the Senior Project Scientist for the James Webb Space Telescope (JWST). The JWST, planned for launch in 2021, will extend the discoveries of the great Hubble Space Telescope, reaching farther back in time, farther out into space, to show us how the expanding universe led to galaxies, stars, planets, and the possibility for life on our tiny Earth. As a 28-year-old postdoc he led the effort to propose the Cosmic Background Explorer satellite (COBE), and then served as its Project Scientist, leading the COBE team to success and to the Nobel Prize in Physics (2006). The COBE measurements started the era of precision cosmology, confirming the expanding universe theory to extraordinary accuracy. Dr. Mather speaks widely on the history of the universe and the astonishing possibilities of our shared future.


00Intro (< 1KB)

Who's Attending

Mrs. Dianea Phillips
Science Yourself! NO G's About It!
Ann Hernandez
Director of Leadership Programs and Inclusion
Space Center Houston
Jennifer Duffer
Engineering & Robotics Teacher
Montgomery ISD
Rowena Fojtasek
Oleson Elementary
Steve Jones
Astronomy, Physics, Science Research Teacher
FCS Innovation Academy
Angela Case
Program Coordinator
Space Center Houston
Argy Leyton
NASA-JPL Solar System Ambassador
Zoe Hulme
Science teacher / STEM coordinator
Erik Holland
Curator of Education
State Historical Society of North Dakota
Ms. Tara Rollins
Information Literacy Specialist (Librarian)
Kujawa Elementary Aldine ISD
Marcos Nunez George Nunez George
Aerospace Education LATAM, Aerospace Academy of México
SEEC CREW Space Center Houston
Ron Schmit
Observatory Coordinator
Anoka Hennepin School District #11
Maura Monter Rios Monter Rios
IT Education manager
Aerospace Academy of Mexico
Ángela Pérez
Corporación Parque Explora - Planetario de Medellin
Shelly Grandell
G/T Science Educator
Jeffco Public Schools
Mrs. Barbara Erdberg Erdberg
STEM 5 Math Teacher
Barber Middle School
Hector David Ariza Betancur
Fundación Jorge Enrique Perea Perea
Akiko Kojima
SEEC Crew / Elementary School Teacher
Takashi Elementary School
Kristine Holloway Holloway
Ontario Certified Teacher
Peel District School Board
Simcha Waisman
One Stop Richmond Hill Community Center
Ms. Machin Norris
Education/SEEC Crew/Space Foundation Teacher Liaison 11-14/NASM-TII
Dr. Irving Rosales Diaz
Aerospace Academy of Mexico
Daniel Newmyer
Vice President of Education
Space Center Houston
Kellie Arenz
Mukwonago Area School District- Park View Middle School
Mrs. Christina Mullin Mullin
Father Leduc School
Mr. Brian Ewenson
Executive Director
Spaceport Sheboygan
Jessica Hostiadi
Grade 6 Teacher
Rhema En Cara School
Neme Alperstein
Library of Congress Teaching With Primary Sources Teachers Network Mentor
Retired NYC Teacher/ Teaching With Primary Sources Teachers Network
Rosalita Santiago
STEM Teacher Specialist
J. Dickerson
Colby Glass Elementary
Heidi Good Good
Blackhawk Christian School
Dr. Kellie Taylor
2nd and 3rd Grade Teacher
Hawthorne Elementary School - Boise School District
Laura Brown
8th Grade Science Teacher
Angleton Isd
Maria Teresa Atanacio
Science Teacher III
Valenzuela City School of Mathematics and Science (Philippines)
Kyle Sampson
Learning Technology Coach
Clear Creek ISD
English Teacher
Aerospace Academy of Mexico
Donovan Flores
College profesor
Aerospace Academy of Mexico
Pam Leestma
Foundation Board Member
Columbia Memorial Space Center, Retired CA teacher
Antonio Matos
Science Teacher
Colégio XIX de Março Brazil
Mónica Ortiz Alvarez
Degree in Neuroscience
Harvard Medical School
Tina Stokes
Deer Park High School
Dr. Anne Weiss
Education Specialist
NASA Langley OSTEM/EPDC/Texas State University
Margaret Baguio
Program Manager
NASA Texas Space Grant Consortium
Ceceila McTighe
Forest Lake Elementary

My Session Status

Send Feedback

Session detail
Allows attendees to send short textual feedback to the organizer for a session. This is only sent to the organizer and not the speakers.
To respect data privacy rules, this option only displays profiles of attendees who have chosen to share their profile information publicly.

Changes here will affect all session detail pages