Skip to main page content

Panel: ISS National Laboratory Panel

My Session Status

12:15 PM, Saturday 6 Feb 2021 CST (1 hour)
  Virtual session
This session is in the past.
The virtual space is closed.
Grades K-12
Join us for a special panel on the research being conducted on the International Space Station. The event will be led by Dr. Liz Warren, Ph.D., Senior Program Director, ISS National Laboratory.

Lucie Low

Dr. Lucie Low is a Scientific Program Manager for the NIH Tissue Chips (also known as ‘organs-on-chips’) program at the National Center for Advancing Translational Sciences (NCATS) at the National Institutes of Health (NIH). She is also the NIH-NASA Liaison Point of Contact at NIH, working with colleagues across the government and beyond to discuss and facilitate collaborations between NIH and NASA.

Prior to joining NCATS, Dr. Low was a Staff Scientist performing neuroscience research on chronic pain at the National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health (NCCIH) at NIH. Dr. Low obtained her Masters and PhD in Neuroscience from University College London in the UK and completed postdoctoral training at McGill University in Montreal, Canada. When not working, Dr. Low enjoys attempting to train her cat to “fetch” (a new pandemic hobby) and skydiving.

Rihana Mungin

Rihana Mungin is a mechanical engineering graduate student studying microgravity capillary fluidics at Portland State University. Notably, she worked with Nickelodeon and NASA to support the Slime in Space demonstrations aboard the International Space Station (ISS). She went on to co-host Slime in Space: A Virtual Field Trip and created an exciting educational STEM environment for grade school children to engage with the low-gravity gooey slime content. Additionally, while working alongside NASA scientists and engineers, she applies her research to develop novel and autonomous liquid delivery methods for the Plant Water Management (PWM) project and studies the fundamentals of evaporation in the absence of gravity to support the Capillary Structures for Exploration Life Support (CSELS) experiments. She will graduate with a M.S. in March 2021.

Liz Warren

Warren, Ph.D. is a Senior Program Director for the International Space Station U.S. National Laboratory.  She has been involved in spaceflight research for over 25 years.Dr. Warren was born and raised in the San Francisco BayArea, and attended the University of California at Davis for both her undergraduate and doctoral degrees in physiology. For her doctoral work, she investigated the effects of gravity as a continuum on energy balance in rats. She completed post-doctoral work in cancer biology at the San Francisco Veterans Affairs Laboratory of Cell Growth, and in the Neuroscience Laboratory at NASA’s Johnson Space Center.  She has performed a variety of roles at NASA, including serving as Deputy Project Scientist for the NASA Bed Rest and Artificial Gravity Projects.  Dr. Warren also spent several years as an Operations Lead in Mission Control for the ISS Medical Project.  Liz is a passionate science communicator and an advocate for human spaceflight and STEM.


00Intro (< 1KB)

Who's Attending

Diane Bowen
Maine Space Grant Consortium
Mrs. Dianea Phillips
Science Yourself! NO G's About It!
Miss Lindsey Hewitt
Science Teacher
Paris High School
Kristen Hudson
Morgan/Kincaid Preparatory School
Sharon Rigsby
Murry J Frank Planetarium, Beaumont ISD
Angela Case
Program Coordinator
Space Center Houston
Ann Hernandez
Director of Leadership Programs and Inclusion
Space Center Houston
Maggie Connelly
Planetarium Specialist
Roper Mountain Science Center
Karim Jaffer
Professor & Astronomy Outreach Coordinator
John Abbott College & RASC Montreal Centre
Angel Alexander
Science Teacher
Stone Magnet Middle School
Renee Gamba
Museum Director/Education Outreach
Museum of Natural History and Planetarium/Providence Parks
English Teacher
Aerospace Academy of Mexico
Audra Peck
Founder and Chief Executive Officer
Ms. Tara Rollins
Information Literacy Specialist (Librarian)
Kujawa Elementary Aldine ISD
Heidi Good Good
Blackhawk Christian School
Susan Barber
New Braunfels High School
Scarlett Randall
4th & 5th teacher
Hawthorne Elem.
Dr. Irving Rosales Diaz
Aerospace Academy of Mexico
Mary Vaughn
Earth Space Science, SEEC Crew, Space Station Ambassador
School District of Hillsborough County
Greg Pitonza
Middle School Technology and STEM Teacher
Canajoharie Middle School
Kirsten Hibbard
Executive Director
Challenger Learning Center of Maine
Shelly Grandell
G/T Science Educator
Jeffco Public Schools
Ron Schmit
Observatory Coordinator
Anoka Hennepin School District #11
Mrs. Christine Graham
6th Grade Science Teacher
Cockrill Middle School
Mr Trevor Kjorlien
Space Educator
Plateau Astro
David Malcolm Malcolm
South Medford High School
Jill Y
Smithsonian Institution
Liam Kennedy
Founder / Inventor
Mrs. Natali Barreto Baca
Albuquerque Public School
Samantha Thorstensen
Education Director
CASIS-Space Station Explorers
Lauren Parker
Teacher, SEEC Crew
Fort Worth Academy
Mónica Ortiz Alvarez
Degree in Neuroscience
Harvard Medical School
Juan Jimenez
English Teacher
Aerospace Academy of Mexico
Megan Davis
Bryan ISD
Lora Mortimore
Arlington Public Schools
Hector David Ariza Betancur
Fundación Jorge Enrique Perea Perea
ALI Hazan del Canto
Psychologist professor
Aeroespace Academy of Mexico
Colleen Leeson
Westbury Christian School
Bryan DeBates
Chief Executive Officer
Innovative Consulting for Education
Melissa Sleeper
Science/STEAM Teacher, Solar System Ambassador, Space Station Ambassador, Cape Canaveral, AIAA K-12 STEM Officer, NASA eClips Educator Advisory Board
Storm Grove Middle School
Dorinda Risenhoover
Education Coordinator
Daniel Newmyer
Vice President of Education
Space Center Houston
Samantha McCoy
Lodi Unified School District
Stephanie McMahon
Accessibility Consultant
Northern Arizona University Center for STEM Teaching and Learning/PLANETS
Mr. Bruce Callow
Teacher /author
Costa Rica Institute of Technology /Universidad del Valle de Guatemala Publishing House

My Session Status

Session detail
Allows attendees to send short textual feedback to the organizer for a session. This is only sent to the organizer and not the speakers.
To respect data privacy rules, this option only displays profiles of attendees who have chosen to share their profile information publicly.

Changes here will affect all session detail pages